Skip to content

This Is Northern New South Wales

Emiliano Cataldi – on a Gypsy’s tale…

Emiliano Cataldi, lives in Byron, procures his passions, surfs his dreams, and prefers the paths less trodden. He was happy to share his adventures, and contagious passion with us through his photographs and story. Interview by Johnny Abegg.

Emi, tell us a bit about your journey to now live in Byron Bay?

I’m from Rome, Italy, and moved to Byron Bay about three years ago. Back home I was a civil engineer, and I also had a few sponsors that have funded my surf trips over the years. I was lucky enough to have a flexible schedule at work, so in between projects I could leave and do my surf travels. But the more I got to see the world the more I got disillisioned about my own country, and that was even before the mess that it is now…so with my girlfriend at the time we decided to move down here. It was a bit of a step into the unknown for me at the time, and I knew close to nothing about Byron back then. But I liked it that way. I just wanted to see it with a fresh mind and free from preconceived notions. We were thinking “let’s go and have a look at it, and if we like it we’ll stay”. Needless to say we liked it (a lot!) and decided to stay…and that’s the best thing that’s ever happened to me! Got to live for the first six months at Broken Head with a lovely family (the Birchs) in a house overlooking the point, and that was just unreal. I fell for the place and the lifestyle straight away. Now I live in town and work for Byron Bay Ballooning, and of course I try to surf as much as I can..

What lures you and others to keep coming back to Byron for more?