Skip to content

This Is Northern New South Wales

The Sing Sing, Papua New Guinea – Brian Hodges

• Travel

Screen Shot 2015-10-25 at 5.55.51 pm
Last week I received an email from a gentleman based in Santa Barbara, California named Brian Hodges, it said:  “Lovely website. I’m not yet a resident of Byron, but am in the process of moving… It will be home starting in February. I’m excited for the move and eager to participate in the artistic community.

In short, I’m a travel photographer, and might have some content of interest to submit. Have a look at my website when you have a moment:

brianhodgesphoto.com

I have some portraits taken in Papua New Guinea that might be of interest. You will find some of the images from this series in “field studio”. Thanks for taking to time to look.” 

So I took a look at Brians work and was blown away by the talent and the stunning work this humble, multi-award winning photographer, was asking me if we would like to share!

The answer was yes! as the timing was perfect, Common Ground is starting to spread its wings into travel to inspire you all to get out of our little bubble and explore the world a little more. We are interested in sharing stories that are connected to us through travel adventures by people from or connected to our region. So here is the first story and photo essay from Brian, we look forward to sharing more of his adventures:

“The tourist doesn’t know where he’s been and a traveller doesn’t know where he’s going” –  Paul Theroux