Skip to content

This Is Northern New South Wales

The Nightjars

In one of the quieter streets of Byron Bay I’ve been photographing a pair of Tawny Frogmouth for about six years, locals in the street say they’ve been there for some fifteen years.

When I show my grandkids and godchildren I tell them they’re the ‘old married couple’ and they always remember them. They are just like an old married couple often sitting right next

to each other and sometimes on different branches. They’re a great indicator of the weather, when they’re on a certain branch I know it’ll be beautiful the next day because

they love to snooze there in the sun.

Most people don’t look up and even if they do their camouflage is so good they blend into the bark of the tree. If someone comes close they close their eyes, point their beak upwards and

pretend to be branch. Quite often curiosity gets the better of them, especially the juveniles, and they’ll open one eye and check you out. They’re quite used to me and will stare at me

and then disdainfully point their bill up and close their eyes. Once in awhile I get a little close or they’re a bit grumpy and one will make a loud clacking noise with their beak or, even better,

they’ll emit a reverberating booming call.

Many people think they’re owls but although related to owls, frogmouths are more closely related to Nightjars.

Frogmouths and owls have anisodactyl feet – meaning that one toe is facing backwards and the other three face forwards. However Frogmouth have fairly weak feet as they use

their beaks to catch prey. Owls eat small mammals, like mice and rats, so their bones are shorter and stronger than those of the Frogmouth which usually hunt for smaller prey.

They typically wait for their prey to come to them, only rarely hunting on the wing like owls.